The members of the local governing body are:

Mary Massey – Chair
Nigel Rees – Vice Chair
Jen Jacklin – Head of School
Dominic Luckett – Health & Safety link
Amanda Lampert – SEND link
Nicola Bealing – Safeguarding link / Parent Governor
Roy Beavis
Sheleen Rodney – SEND link / Parent Governor

The Governors can be contacted through the school with correspondence marked for the attention of Mary Massey Chair of Governors.

Mary Massey

Mary Massey retired in 2014 after eight years as an HMI, inspecting mostly secondary schools and Initial Teacher Education.  She currently works as an independent school improvement consultant for both secondary and primary schools.  Before joining Ofsted she spent 36 years teaching in a wide variety of secondary schools, in both rural and urban contexts, including 20 years in senior management.  She has particular interest in leadership, behaviour management, and provision for the most vulnerable students including those with special educational needs.


Nigel has been involved in school and FE College Governance since 1984 in a variety of settings.  Nigel is currently a Member and Chair of Trustees for Sherborne Area Schools Trust (SAST),

Nigel was designated as a National Leader of Governance in February 2016 and developed strong links with Dorset Local Authority, Salisbury CofE Diocese, and Bath and Wells CofE Diocese, which has enabled him to support the Governing Bodies in twelve primary and secondary schools since designation, outside SAST.

Nigel’s career was in banking (1974 – 2014), his final role being as a Senior Manager for HSBC Bank plc.  Following retirement, he is currently undertaking a role as a Banking Expert, supporting a senior independent reviewer in their assessment of a large UK bank’s remediation programme.  The role focuses on providing business banking and restructuring expertise to help inform customer outcomes.

Dr Dominic Luckett

Dominic Luckett was educated at the University of Leicester, where he obtained a first class honours degree in History, and at Magdalen College, Oxford, where he completed his doctorate.  He then taught for eleven years at Harrow School, where he was Head of History and an assistant housemaster, before moving to Worth School as Deputy Head.  From 2007, he was Headmaster of Mill Hill School, an independent coeducational day and boarding school in north London, and Chief Executive of the Mill Hill School Foundation comprising the senior, prep, pre-prep and international schools.  Since January 2016, he has been Headmaster and Chief Executive of Sherborne School.

He is a Governor of Sherborne Qatar; of Sherborne Preparatory School; and The Pilgrims’ School, Winchester.  He is married to Cara, a barrister specialising in clinical negligence, and they have two daughters.

Amanda Lampert:

Amanda has been a member of staff at King Arthur’s for the past nine years working within the Special Educational Needs Department.  Her current role sees her supporting the Assistant Head and Senco alongside being Senior Learning Support Assistant.  Before working for King Arthur’s, Amanda lived in Birmingham and worked as an Attendance Officer in a local school.  She is passionate about King Arthur’s School and the students, and believes that every student should receive the best possible education and feel part of the school community. She has a particular interest in Special Educational Needs and continues to develop this interest.  Having completed awards to support Autism and various other additional needs, Amanda is now completing a Level 5 Specialist Dyslexia Teaching Award.

Nicola Bealing

Nicola is local to Wincanton and is currently working at a cafe. She has been parenting for more than 26 years, first with her son and currently with her twin girls. She has always taken a keen role in their school lives. She has helped in class (reading, sewing, arts & crafts), been on the PTA and run an after school club. She enjoys cooking, sewing, knitting and walking. Nicola is passionate about every child getting the best education and school experience they can at King Arthur’s school.

Roy Beavis OBE

Roy is a qualified teacher, a retired and decorated Army Officer and has been a consultant in project/programme management and complex global logistics for the last 12 years. He taught in North London before embarking on a 26 year Army career where he saw active service in a number of conflict zones and disaster relief following the 2003 tsunami. Less exciting, but equally impactful, he has had key roles in developing potential officers, drafting education policy for the UK Ministry of Defence, advising US headquarters Central Command during the War on Terrorism and re-organising the headquarters of the UK Army.  His consultancy work includes the London 2012 Olympics, rail construction in Qatar for FIFA 2022, IT and Communication projects for UK emergency services, large airline support services and major oil and gas projects in Kazakhstan and the Caribbean. All this brings a skill-set that covers education, leadership in public service and wide ranging business consultancy. He is willing to tackle anything but avoids the label ‘specialist’.  However, his particular areas of expertise include leadership development, strategic planning, financial management, estates management, governance and organisational design.

Sheleen Rodney

Sheleen believes in children from all backgrounds, achieving their personal best in education and social development whilst at King Arthur’s. Having lived locally for a few years and in many different communities, she has had first-hand parental knowledge of a variety of schools, located in bustling towns and forest settings, within both the state and independent sector. She has qualifications in Diversity and Inclusion and Education and Training. This, along with working in London in project management and property has provided her with a wealth of experience and an appetite for progressive change and inclusive education that properly prepares young people for the wider world.
Sheleen has two children at the school and has always enjoyed being actively involved in their schooling, through focus groups, school trips, fundraising and sports days. Some of her favourite things in life are her family, singing, quizzing, interior design, the countryside, and roast dinners.

For more information on SAST governance arrangement click here.

Register of Business Interests 2020-21 Register of Attendance 2019-20

Contact Us

For more information or to get in touch:

01963 32368
or by Email